Thursday, 30 October 2014

Facts about the earth

Facts about the earth
Screenshot 2014-10-30 at 10.27.09 AM.pngThe earth is made out of 4 layers called the crust, the mantle, the outer core and the inner core.

The crust is the outer and thinnest layer of the earth. It is made out of special kind of rocks that
is made out of a combination of iron and magnesium. It is 5 kilometers thick from the ocean floor and 70 kilometers from land where we live.

The second inner layer of the earth is the mantle, it is almost 3,000 km (kilometers) deep. On the top part of the mantel volcanoes are formed.

The third inner layer is called the outer core. It is 4,000-5,000 degrees celsius and did you know the inner core is so hot that it melts the metal of the outer core into liquid magma.

The next layer is called the inner core. The inner core is made out of lava, you might think lava is liquid but its so hot that it turns into a rock that is solid. The inner core is as hot as the surface as the sun.


No comments:

Post a Comment